Leaving for Ukraine on Monday

Beginning on Monday, I will be part of a Federation mission to Cherkassy, Ukraine.  Cherkassy is Greater Metro West’s sister community.  Since 1997, the generous Jewish community right here in New Jersey has funded a number of buildings and programs for the approximately 3,000 Jews in the Cherkassy area.  In addition to Cherkassy, we will also be spending time in Odessa and Kiev – Ukraine’s two largest cities.  I am not 100% sure what kind of connection to the internet I will have during my travels, but my intention is to blog as I go.  So, whenever I find myself with a wifi connection, I will post what I can (hopefully some pictures too!).

Shabbat Shalom,

RAF.

About Rabbi Avi Friedman

I am the rabbi of Congregation Ohr Shalom - SJCC, a progressive Conservative and traditional congregation. I am also husband to Jodi as well as father to Gabi, Jonah, Jessica and Ilana. I have been a part of the Summit community since 2005.
This entry was posted in Ukraine Mission 2013 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Leaving for Ukraine on Monday

  1. Ilene says:

    Safe journey there and back. My grandfather Isidore Belocerkovsky fled Kiev 101 years ago. Would love to see pictures!

Leave a Reply

